Creating long lasting, authentic relationships

This wonderful video from ‘If Love is a Game, These are the Rules’  humorously tackles the nuts and bolts of relationship traps. I don’t think there’s anyone whose been in a relationship who hasn’t come face to face with the problems highlighted here. They’re simple and easy to relate to, a little more lighthearted than the point by point blog post on Negotiating Skills from yesterday. Although those points must-not-be-missed. It’s the boring leg work that usually does the trick. Today’s video will give you an idea of the kind of attitude to bring to your negotiations…eventually.

It’s guaranteed – if there’s a couple one half will be superbly tidy, packing items for travel in plastic bags while the other,  less tidy half of the duo will  just throw it in the bag, with the attitude  “It’ll all get there.” How do you reconcile such differences, apart from the really obvious way –  “Where you illogically and unfairly wish the other person was exactly like you. Are you judgemental of who they are and how they are or do you respond with love and acceptance?

In this video you will see how Cherie learns to make statements about her needs. This is a point that’s relevant for most women. Women are more geared to taking care of other people’s needs. Men are excellent at getting their needs met. Women need to learn to say it like it is. That makes things easier. When you watch the video you’ll see how tolerant Mike is of Cherie’s inability to say what she wants, he’s loving and indulgent. It’s extremely endearing. Which brings me back to my original point – remember to reach out with your heart with a sense of love.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on May 19, 2014, in a sense of humor, communication, Culture, Good marriage, love, Negotiation, strength, wife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

