Negotiation skills

I said yesterday that Negotiations begin with dating. What if you’re beyond that stage, are already in a relationship but haven’t set down ground rules. Where do you take it from there? Well you can still save your relationship through negotiation as illustrated in This excellent article by Zahava Starak.

Negotiation

Negotiation (Photo credit: Nick in exsilio)

The steps she outlined were

  1. Determine the outcome of your negotiation
  2. Establish communication guidelines
  3. Each one objectively describes the situation
  4. Communicate how important the subject is to you (feelings)
  5. Brainstorm
  6. You will both probably have to compromise a bit – it may be an agreement to respect and accept each other’s differences; or it may be a tit for tat response in which you do something for me and I do something for you.What is important is that both partners feel that they have been heard, their interests and desires considered and an acceptable solution has been found.
Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on May 18, 2014, in communication, Negotiation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I learned that negotiations begin long before dating. They begin with your SELF. It’s about knowing what your boundaries are and have the gumption to enforce them. It’s about know the types of behavior in ourselves and in others that we’ll accept into our lives. Get real with you first – then it won’t be so difficult to negotiate with others 🙂

Leave a Reply

