Done with Men – Book Review

I simply couldn’t resist reading a book called Done with Men. The book had me engaged from the word ‘go’ and I didn’t get up from the sofa where I lay cocooned in a crochet throw until I had finished reading this novella. It made for a pleasant evening, leaving me with a smile on my lips and sweet dreams. Yes, it is chicklit…did you ask what that is? Here is a detailed and loving description of chicklit with the difference between UK and US chicklit (nothing about Indian Chicklit).

What I like about chicklit –

The protagonist is always a woman. The protagonist invariably loves shoes – not necessarily onlyJimmy Choos but footwear makes her salivate (nothing to be ashamed of there). I don’t like to judge people who love boots, jootis, golden shoes, sandals, flats, heels, Doc Martens, sneakers, flip flops…I’m proud of my love for shoes.

The protagonist is a strong female who doesn’t hesitate to bare her claws if needed (we need more women like this, less of the self-sacrificing variety).

The book is usually written in the first person. The tone is chatty and confessional – possibly because the protagonist is not embarrassed about her foibles or her drunken misadventures with men, shoes, bosses, jobs, mothers, ex boyfriends and others. She embraces who she is.

Done with Men’s Kay has all the above ingredients except a love of shoes. The book begins with a funny incident that ensured I kept right on reading. Because of it’s easy to read quality, you can enjoy it while stirring your sambhar as Vidya Sury did. Like Vidya I performed an entire evening’s tasks as I rollicked through the book.

Shuchi Kalra’s debut novel is well written, pithy, funny and engaging. She could have been nastier to Ricky but then I sympathise with her inability to be as cutting to an ex as one should be. Although I admire the ruthless woman when it comes to relationship ending I have never been able to master the art of painless surgery. But I’m getting there.

Done With Men by Shuchi Kalra

ISBN: 978-1-927826-32-4

The book, published by Toronto-based publisher Indireads was released on 14.2.14.

Shuchi Kalra is an Optometrist turned writer, editor and blogger based in India.

She has been writing since 2005, and has freelanced with popular magazines such as Femina, Good Housekeeping, Home Review, Parent & Child, Vista, Dogs & Pups, Women’s Era and Time ‘N’ Style among many others. Her short stories have found a place in anthologies such as “Love Across Borders” and New Asian Writing’s upcoming collection (to be published in 2014. She also writes a monthly travel column for Investors India. She owns Pixie Dust Writing Studio, an editing firm that services a global clientele, and the Indian Freelance Writers Blog, a fast-growing resource for Indian writers.

Shuchi is also the owner of Pixie Dust Writing Studio, a writing and editing firm that services a global clientele, and the Indian Freelance Writers Blog. Done With Men is her first book.

A self-confessed travel junkie, she now leads a happily nomadic life with her fauji husband and livewire toddler.

Done With Men is her first book.

Visit her at www.shuchikalra.com

Connect with her on Facebook and Twitter

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on February 23, 2014, in Divorce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s a delightful read, Kalpana and enjoyed your review. I adore the book, the intelligent humor, crisp narrative and, of course, Thought Bubble. You can find mine on http://vishalbheeroo.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/book-review-done-with-men-is-refreshing-crisp-and-wacky

  2. Lovely review, Kalpana! It was such a cool, light-hearted read, wasn’t it? 🙂

  3. You make the book sound very interesting!! Adding it to my reading list.

  4. yes, i too started it reading on mobile kindle when I was waiting for my daughter’s van from school..

Leave a Reply

