Not an old shoe

Little-shoe-Vidya-Sury

Two

We come in pairs.

Separate

But incomplete

Without the other.

Like a couple.

Who usually lives together for most of their lives.

Sometimes

They don’t.

Death, divorce, time, distance

Accidents, misunderstandings,

Pairing with another mismatched shoe

Leaves one solitary

Forgotten

A little useless.

What can you do with one shoe?

Throw it out.

That holds good for shoes.

Not people.

A person alone

Is still worthwhile.

A person alone

Is not an old shoe.

~ Kal

This post was inspired by Writetribe Wednesday Prompt

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on January 18, 2014, in Breaking Up, Divorce, I'm still a rock star, strength and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lovely poem. I love each and every word in this beautiful and intelligent expression of words:)
    Have a good day
    http://vishalbheeroo.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/wednesday-prompt-2014-3-the-perfect-winter-gift

  2. a person alone, is not an old shoe! loved it 🙂

  3. loved it… Great take on the prompt 🙂

Leave a Reply

