The one that got away

English: Location of Dharmapuri district in Ta...

English: Location of Dharmapuri district in Tamil Nadu (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“This brave teen took on her family to prevent her forced marriage.

 She looks like any other teenager in one of the many villages in Dharmapuri district, Tamil Nadu. Large eyes, oiled hair in neat plaits and simply dressed in a salwar kameez. Docile, even frightened, her looks however belie her spirit. For this braveheart single-handedly took on her mother and grandmother, landing them in prison for trying to force her to marry on the eve of her fifteenth birthday.

Abandoned by her father some years ago, Akila and her mother had moved into her maternal grandmother’s house.

Child marriage, usually without the girl’s consent, is rampant in rural India. According to Unicef, 47 per cent of girls are married by 18 years, and 18 per cent are married by 15. Besides mandating 18 as the marriageable age for girls, the government has also introduced the free education scheme Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan to discourage child marriage…” read the rest of Aditi Bhaduri’s article at  Child marriage.

This article is heartening because it shows how UNICEF helped in a very practical way. It also showed me the importance of giving village children telephone numbers and ways of contacting authorities should they need to do so. The only reason this spunky young woman escaped the fate of millions of other young Indian girls was because she had a way to get in touch  with people who could help her.

Is this a Child Marriage in 2009?

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on January 17, 2014, in bad marriage, communication, oppressive customs, strength and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is amazing, so nice to have found your blog, will follow your stuff for sure, I have recently done an inspiring story about problems of child marriage in Bangladesh, feel free to take a look at http://saadiahaq.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/girls-not-brides14-year-old-hosna-decides-no-to-child-marriage/
    Thank you, in solidarity

Leave a Reply

