Arranged marriages: a subversion of feminism

Indian marriages, whether arranged or otherwise are a subversion of feminism. The roots of patriarchy run so deep in our society, they snake underground and inveigle themselves insidiously into the very fabric of their brains becoming living, breathing veins carrying the poisonous fluid in them.
Here Mad Period Woman writes about arranged marriages with great insight and restraint. My thoughts on this would have turned into a rant.
The reason I said that all Indian marriages are a subversion of feminism is also because we are forced to make every marriage appear like an arranged marriage to still the wagging tongues of ‘traditional’ relatives, friends and neighbours. Or so we think. Shouldn’t we be able to do things as we believe rather than pander to outdated modes of thinking? Aren’t we supporting the very traditional mindset we rail against by being spineless about it?

 

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on November 8, 2013, in Culture, Divorce, Feminist, giving up, oppressive customs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

