A home of one’s own-Firm Grounding

This excellent blog post will throw some light on the background to the legislation upsetting so many men. A balanced and clear presentation of the facts.

https://divorceddoodling.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/property-for-divorced-indian-women/

goodgovernance blog

Today’s women must educate themselves about their property entitlements and stand-up for what is theirs by right, advises Vimla Patil.

A recent tweet I read would bring a wry smile to the faces of many Indian women! It says: Every woman is Rani Lakshmi Bai! In her parents’ home, she is the Rani. When she marries, she is called the Lakshmi of her marital home. But finally, she ends up being the Bai who does all the work for free!’

Yet another tweet says with equal tongue-in-cheek humour: ‘An Indian woman dedicates her life to keep the kitchen going, to decorate her home and to qualify as a superb home-maker. But she never gets a right to the home she builds with such love and hard work!’

Here is a guide to laws that determine what an Indian woman can or cannot own:

Womanly woes

Every day, as we…

View original post 787 more words

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on July 21, 2013, in Courts, Divorce, lawyers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

