Wife of many years

DSC_0517

 

Wife of many years

Beaten, merely contemplates

Monkeys steal mangoes.

~ Mystic

Some micro poetry, illustrated by a photograph I took while driving through a forest. I heard of a woman last weekend. She’s sixty years old – her husband still beats her. Her children are grown, her brothers want her to leave, she’s economically independent. You’d think she’d jump at the offer. NO – it’s still up for discussion. The inertia of years of putting up with him, for the sake of the children, of ‘what will people say’ keeps her chained in a marriage that is an enslavement despite her family’s many appeals to her to end the injustice, the battering, the painful humiliation. She can’t. Who knows why? She merely contemplates what is being done to her, and watches and weighs the pros and cons. Tragic.

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on July 9, 2013, in abuse, bad marriage, Breaking Up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. subzeroricha

    I agree with peggy that women today are scared of the unknown. Misery is at least familiar they know how to deal with it. But this needs to change. Honestly we all need to get that letting go is better than suffering. I hope for the sake of that woman that she does make a good choice in the end..

    Richa

  2. It is really sad how women just suffer and don’t even share it with anyone just because of the social fear…

  3. In my professional career and in my personal experiences, I’ve come to understand that the question isn’t so much, “why doesn’t she leave?” but rather “why does she stay?” You touch on that dynamic when you mention the “inertia of years of putting up with him.” Why she stays is a topic worth discussing. Thank you for your thoughtful blog.

  4. It’s really sad that women all over the world endure all this because of the fear of society. Yes, it is the stigma of being single mom, women in the crowd that women put up with all the domestic violence. Read about the Indian celebrity Yukta Mookhey being violently abused by her husband Prince Tuli of Nagpur.

  5. Such a tragedy… 😦

    I always wonder why they stay on.. and none of these reasons seem good enough..

  6. tamalabaldwin

    I love being in a forest. I just love trees. It’s a great place to be silent. I don’t know why some people have the courage to walk away and others do not. As Peggy said only we have the keys to our own cage. I feel for people that are not aware of their self worth and that life could be so much more… but we are such fragile beings that are easily wounded. It’s just tragic all around.

  7. How sad!! She is afraid to leave what she has grown used to and discover the unknown without him. Leaving must be more terrifying than staying and that is so sad.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

  8. That is tragic. And sad. In my work with women in the stepmom role, I also see women hanging on to the misery they know rather then take that first step into the unknown. We all have the keys to our own cage can walk free any time we choose.

    Peggy from UBC
    ***
    Peggy Nolan
    http://thestepmomstoolbox.com

Leave a Reply

