Don’t be scared to walk alone

“Don’t be scared to walk alone. Don’t be scared to like it.” John Mayer

In the Himalayas

Don’t be scared to walk alone

I took this photograph on a trek to the Valley of Flowers. The height and the view down into the valley was dizzying and scary. I’m glad I went. I felt adventurous, glad to be alive and utterly convinced that I was doing the right thing.

Deciding to leave your marriage is a like that. You may think it’s a dangerous thing to do and you’d rather stay in your familiar armchair. This may be right for you. But don’t stay put out of fear of the unknown, or fear of being alone. You may discover a wonderful new person if you go it alone. You may find YOU. Enjoy the journey.

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on July 8, 2013, in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I visited the Valley of Flowers as a child. Your analogy is brilliant and very true!

  2. you made a good point :)… like the comparison drawn and I agree that most of the times we discover ourselves only when we get up and dust off the particles of an unwanted relationship…

  3. subzeroricha

    I remember my husband telling me about valley of flowers he took a college trip on his own there. They trekked to it with all the tents and cylinders and what not. Now I see the photo I realise what I missed!

    Richa

  4. YOu have drawn the right link between physical challenges and those we face in life. The first step is difficult and unpleasant, but sometimes it must be taken.

  5. Very strong post.. beautiful pic.
    and the message is just right. Hugs!!

  6. minette2012

    What a beautiful photo. I am on vacation in Estes Park, Colorado and while the mountains are not quite as high, they still evoke this same feeling in me. I did an 8.5 mile hike yesterday, stunning views, sore today but so glad I undertook the journey. I have been happily married for 17 years but am the child of parents who have been married multiple times so am very empathetic to your plight. Walk on and know you are never alone, the hardest step is the first one.

  7. Thank you all for your comments. Sometimes I don’t know what is more satisfying. Writing the blog or reading the fantabulous, awesome, marvelous, amazing comments from busy people who stop by to read and say something positive and encouraging.

  8. Wow amazing Capture.. 🙂
    And yes we should never afraid to walk alone no matter how bad the situation is..

  9. I remember the fear while hiking to the top or Roger’s Rock–It was paralyzing. Your parallel to life is true. Often we freeze and are unable to do what we know we must.
    Thanks for your insightful post

  10. You make some amazing points. I am not divorced (have been happily married for almost 20 years), but my husband comes from a divorced family and from him I have learned a lot about it.

    Thank you for the post and continued blessings on your journey!

    ~Suni

  11. Brenda Case

    Fear of the unknown can be paralyzing for sure! I remember many years ago as I was trying to convince my brain that I had to get out of the abusive situation I was in. It was one of the hardest things I ever did, even though I KNEW it was the right thing. Great message!

    By the way, I have enjoyed the journey!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

