First Wives Club

Sometimes we need to lighten up, specially  about divorce – if you’re going through it. You can’t be tragic all the time. It’s bad but it isn’t the end of the world.

free_6161911
A hilarious 1996 film called First Wives Club. does just that. Three childhood friends meet later in life to find themselves in pretty much the same situation – their husbands have left them for other women. They plan whacky revenge…it’s funny and helps you release those emotions without actually chopping up all his ties, or bashing the BMW.

122804183175fEu6
Ummm – I’m writing from the woman’s viewpoint here. One of these days I’ll do a post supporting the emotions of divorcing men. But for today – bear with me.
If you haven’t seen it – watch the trailer here http://www.listal.com/video/10507191
And now – a few quotes from the movie to get you giggling.
Ivana Trump: Ladies, you have to be strong and independent, and remember, don’t get mad, get everything.

[finding empty liquor bottles in trash]
Brenda: Let’s examine the evidence. Look! all bottles and gallon jugs!
Elise: I had guests!
Brenda: Who? Guns N Roses?
Annie: I’m very sorry I ever met you. And I’m sorry that I allowed myself to love you for all those years. I’m sorry that I did nothing but be there for you every minute of every hour and support you in your every *move*. I’m sorry!

Brenda: My Morty becomes this big shot on T.V… He was selling electronics, right? On our 20th wedding anniversary it hits midlife crisis major. He starts working out, he, he grows a moustache, he gets an earring. I said, “Morty, Morty, what are you? A pirate? what’s next? A parrot?” And all of a sudden I’m a big drag. I’m holding him back because I won’t go rollerblading.

Brenda: There she is. Princess Pelvis!

It isn’t a great film. It may not be everybody’s cuppa but it’s certainly funny.
Getting divorced is probably easier if you have a bunch of friends going through it together. Then you don’t lie awake at night thinking
“Oh, the shame.”
“Oh, now everybody knows every last detail about my life.”
No, instead you feel part of a group who knows every last detail about each others lives and you can behave  ‘badly’ together. Alone, holier than thou people will hold your hand with tears in their eyes and try to convince you that marriage is forever. And there you are thinking, “I thought so too. I wish I was as lucky as you are. Being divorced doesn’t mean I didn’t value marriage. How come you get to judge me just because I’m getting a divorce?”
In a group you still judge each other, we’re human, but since everybody’s vulnerable you get to judge them back and don’t feel so hauled over the coals. There’s something to be said for it. If you’re lucky enough to find such a group.

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on July 6, 2013, in affair, Divorce and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. subzeroricha

    Thanks for the recommendation! I will definitely now go and see it. They say for all adverse situation, humour doesnt hurt at all 🙂

    Richa

  2. I have watched the movie and found it funny and incredibly brave!!

  3. I have seend this movie just 2 weeks back… and I thought it totally rocked… 🙂 🙂

  4. I agree with you.. Divorce isnt the end of the world.. I have my friends who are undergoing divorce and I respect them so much for standing up for themselves and for doing the right thing.. Good wishes and may you find new incredible experiences that marvel you every single day.. Live to the fullest.. God Bless 😀

  5. Ah I really like that film (although I’ve never been married) nor divorced!

  6. Unfortunately I have experienced divorce as well. Praying blessings on you as you walk this path.

  1. Pingback: Out of the mouths of babes… | divorced doodling

Leave a Reply

