Divorce and a sense of humour

This is a guest post by a divorced guy.

This junior fellow from a client’s office called me the other day and very excitedly began rambling about a party that they were throwing. Having given me full details, he came on to the subject inviting me and asked me, most politely, to attend the party with my wife.

I informed him that there was no problem in my attending the party, but getting the wife over was tough, would involve very serious preparation, and just a two-day notice wasn’t enough.

In a serious tone (well, junior chaps have to maintain that when they talk to a man of my vintage), and hesitatingly as well, a bit, he asked: Sir, I don’t understand this preparation bit? Is she out of town or something? Or is there some other problem?

No, I said, that wasn’t the issue. Then I asked him if he could help me sort this problem out to which he agreed, most readily. I like such young chaps who are forever ready and eager to help older guys like me.

I told him that I need to very quickly contact a few papers and websites, maybe call my relatives back home in the small town of UP that I hail from, and have them also speak to the local barber, and that there was very little time to do all of it. Just 48 hours. Phew!

I could imagine a confused expression appearing on his face as he heard me out at the other end of that phone call he had made. Wanting to deliver him out of this confusion, I asked him if he could come over and help me out as I was very keen to attend this party. Still confused, he thought for a moment and asked me if he could call me back in a few minutes. I said fine, take your time, but remember that we have only 48 hours.

He called, as promised, a few minutes later and confessed his confusion with this whole affair. He couldn’t figure out as to what I expected him to do.

That’s when I told him: I am a divorced man and you ask me to attend this party in the next 48 hours with my wife. So, I need your help to get married before that.

I heard laughter. Not full blown, but laughter of a guy who has just had his leg pulled.

Well, there is one thing that the divorce has certainly done for me. It has improved my sense of humour.

Ek Akela

About Kalpanaa

Trying to change the world one blog post at a time. I write. It's the best thing I can do. I am the Hanged Man, the Fool, the sometime Magician. Whether I travel in my imagination or in real life I always enjoy myself. I read books, I review. I eat, I review. I watch plays, I review. I have an opinion on everything. At other times I heal people through yoga and/or foot reflexology.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in Breaking Up, Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

